Suffolk County Pub of the Year 2023 and 2024. A splendid characterful pub, which was originally the guesthouse for the Benedictine priory. This inn was extended some years ago and now has two dining areas with a public bar and games room retained around the historic core. The original bar is timber-framed with a flagstone floor. At the heart of village life, the pub hosts folk music evenings and is home to the Rumburgh Morris and Old Glory Molly Dancers. Good quality meals are served featuring locally sourced produce (booking is advisable).
Historic Interest
The inn & the parish church were formerly part of a Benedictine priory. This former 16th cent. monastery guesthouse. Jock & Laura Canham became landlords of The Buck on September 26th 1926 after previous landlord Ernest Warren was asked to leave after he got his housekeeper pregnant. Jock & Laura ran the pub until Jock passed away during the 1950's but Laura continued to run the pub with the help of her son Nelson (so named because he was born in Holton Lord Nelson). The Buck was owned by the village church until they sold to Adnams during the 1950's. Laura decided to retire in November 1981 & Adnams also decided to sell with the pub in poor condition & needing countless repairs. Initially Adnams marketed the pub for sale as a private house, but David Thomas offered to buy the pub with the licence. Initially Adnams said no, but after no more offers they decided to take David up on his offer & The Buck was saved. David renovated the pub & during his time in Rumburgh also did a lot of work to keep the village church open. He sold the pub in 1987 to Tony & Bea McDonagh who did yet more renovation & this is how the pub remains today. Tony & Bea were here until 1997 when they sold to Richard & Denise Oanes who ran the pub until December 1999 when Roger & Jane Davis moved in. They ran the pub until local pub operator David Maskery bought the pub on September 12th 2002 and Kate & Gary Cornthwaite were landlords until Oct 2016. Kerry & Rebecca, employees of Kate & Gary, then took on the management from Oct 2016 until September 2019 when the current managers Stella (sister to current owner David Maskery) & her husband Tyrone took over - six months ahead of covid, and still there today enjoying a successful traditional country pub with several CAMRA awards. Photographs of this pub and more historical information about it can be found at suffolk.camra.org.uk/pub/835
This Pub serves 4 changing beers and 1 regular beer.
Buck, Rumburgh
Notice an error or missing details? Help us keep our pub & club information accurate by sharing any corrections or updates you spot.