Shepherd Neame pub.
A very handsome Victorian pub owned by Shepherd Neame, this re-opened after a four week tasteful refurbishment on 20th September 2024, whereby the original features have been carefully retained. Extended over the years, the pub is twice the original size since taking over the ironmongers shop next door when it closed. Situated on the corner of Masons Hill and Napier Road, this is conveniently situated for numerous bus routes as well as being half mile from Bromley South station. A popular venue with a wide range of ages, the pub is also known by its nickname "The Bricks" and has a strong association with Bromley FC and tends to be very busy on match days.
Inside, there are two split-level bars with various connecting rooms, all in a jade green and cream colour scheme. The main entrance leads straight to an ornate wooden bar counter with high tables and stools. The raised area to the left, with separating mesh screen, has a refurbished original fireplace and exposed brickwork, whilst the larger room to the right has a second bar with plenty of tables and seating. There is half-panelling throughout along with a combination of tiled and wooden flooring. This is complemented by a mix of modern and old-fashioned lighting, plus large picture windows that bring in plenty of light. There are also several TV screens showing major sporting events. The walls are adorned with framed photos and prints with a football theme plus tributes to Bromley FC.
Cask ales are from the Shepherd Neame range as well as several keg beers, including Bear Island.
Food is served at most times, including sandwiches, snacks and daily specials.
There is a rear courtyard garden with a modern brick, steel and timber two-storey shelter (the upper storey can be reserved for functions) with TV screens and darts.
Historic Interest
Dating from 1851, this was a former beer-house situated on the London to Hastings & Rye coach road, when the area was once called Shooting Common. This was almost adjacent to the Palace Tavern that once existed in Palace Lane (now renamed as Napier Road). It is believed that the latter was once an old coaching inn, the lane once leading to the entrance and drive for Bromley Palace (owned by the Bishops of Rochester until 1845). A toll house also once stood nearby on the main coach road until demolished in 1865.
This Pub serves 1 changing beer and 2 regular beers.
Bricklayers Arms, Bromley
Changing beers typically include: Shepherd Neame (seasonal)
Notice an error or missing details? Help us keep our pub & club information accurate by sharing any corrections or updates you spot.